Wish me anything you want…

Christmas is coming… Christmas is coming… are you excited for it yet?  Me either.. Bah Humbug is pretty much what I’m going to be telling people this year.  I really have no Christmas spirit.  Even though I don’t have any Christmas Spirit I’m not going to go around all Scrooge like, no.. when I say “Bah Humbug” it will be light hearted and fun.  It’s not my intention to ruin anyone’s day with my lack of Joy, so if I say it I will say it cute..  ya know.

Bah, Humbug!

Bah, Humbug! (Photo credit: PrincessFroglips)

Now, saying all of that leads me to my reasoning behind this post.  What is the big deal if someone says “Merry Christmas” or “Happy Holiday“?  I understand that Christians are feeling like God is being pushed out of everything, the schools, the Government and so on.  I know if you love Jesus you love him dearly and defend him with your dying breath.  Hey, that’s great.. good for you.. but not everyone feels the way you do.  Some people do not believe in Christ, but still celebrate Christmas.  Face it, it’s more a of a Hallmark Holiday anymore then a Religious Holiday.

I seriously don’t understand the reasoning behind being downright angry when someone tells you “Happy Holidays” rather then “Merry Christmas”..  Maybe I’m not going to see you again before New Years and I just want to tell you “Hey.. I hope both your holidays are great” without having to say all of that so I simply say “Happy Holidays”.  Why do people have to get ugly about it?  I’m not telling you “Happy Holidays” in hopes that your entire month of festivities are ruined, and I’m quite positive that others who tell you that don’t mean for that to happen either.  Just like I’m quite positive that you telling me “Merry Christmas” isn’t your way of saying “Hey..  you better believe in Christ and remember him or I’m damning you to hell for all eternity”…. Take a chill pill people.  Relax.. Remember we are not all alike, we do not all believe in the same things.  If we did, it’d be one helluva boring world.

Look at it like this… if someone is taking the time to wish a Happy Holidays or a Merry Christmas or a Happy Chanukah or a Blessed Kwanza.. be happy they are thinking good thoughts for you.  They could be telling you “Hey.. go fornicate yourself and that horse you rode in on too because I don’t like the way he looks either!”  People could very easily in today’s economy take that whole Scrooge thing to a new level.  So instead of getting your panties in a wad when someone tells you something that is meant to be a  happy thing.. smile.. tell them Thank you.. same to you.. it’s a very easy and all parties leave smiling.  Now if you must get upset about it… think to yourself while smiling at them how your going to go home, build a shrine to them and perform many different ritualistic dances to ensure they will forever have bad luck and bad karma!

~ by Shannygirl on November 29, 2012.

13 Responses to “Wish me anything you want…”

  1. I think a lot of people have a problem with “The Man” telling us what is acceptable to say… and different Cities, County, State’s or whatever telling us that we cannot put up a nativity scene… the government is trying to take Christ out of Christmas… and the sheeple or following suit… so now people are fighting back… that is why you see all the post from people saying that they will say Merry Christmas and not happy holidays… simply because people were trying to take away their right to say Merry Christmas if they want to

    • I understand that.. and that’s fine.. but why get angry with someone if they say “Happy Holidays” to you? They aren’t trying to hurt you or your family.. they aren’t trying to hurt your celebrations.. just wishing you Happy Holidays..

  2. I don’t get that either. I mean, what if you don’t know if a person celebrates Christmas or Hanukkah or neither? Happy Holidays would be a safe thing to say. It’s ridiculous the things people get all pissy over, JEEZ! ;)

  3. I don’t get angry on the outside and say something to the person, I just smile and say Merry Christmas back at them but on the inside in pisses me off because the whole Happy Holidays things was done to be politically correct for those who don’t believe in Christ and don’t celebrate Christmas as his birthday but instead as a holiday of gift giving, cheer, and good will. Well sorry but it is designated as the day to celebrate his birth. Now was it the actual day of his birth? No it wasn’t but that was the day associated with it to celebrate it. The gift giving came from the wise men bring gifts to his manger. The good will came from someone giving them a manger to stay in when when no one else would and the cheer came from the angels appearing and announcing that he would be our saviour. Every gets all pissed off when christians celebrate their faith and beliefs and they are forced to stop doing it in public so as not to offend those who don’t but no one ever stands up for the christians and say “HEY, you saying I can’t do this OFFENDS ME!” So I don’t like Happy Holidays. I don’t say Happy Holidays. I say Merry Christmas. I will be nice and polite to those who do say it out of respect for them and their beliefs but I also expect the same in return when i say Merry Christmas.

  4. [...] Wish me anything you want… (shanson3871.wordpress.com) [...]

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 670 other followers

