Stupidity… a global epidemic

So here I am, sitting at my desk at work dealing with people from all over the world. I get to speak with men and women from other countries, and some who have never been outside of the state they were born in and one thing is universal, there are a lot of stupid people in this world. I don’t mean that in a mean way either. I’m not trying to put anyone down for not being highly educated, Lord knows I’m not, I only have a 2 yr degree. But some people just completely lack common sense altogether. Basic knowledge of how to do the simplest tasks, like dial a phone, or even talk on the phone.  I don’t know how many times a day I will answer the phone and the following conversation happens.

 

Me “Thank you for calling Shippers Choice, how can I help you?”

Them “Fine thanks, and how are you?”

Me (thinking ok, I didn’t ask how you were) “I’m fine thank you, how can I help you?”

Them “I’m good good, thank you for asking.”

Me “That’s great, now how can I help you?”

Them finally telling me they want to find out more about a CDL

Me “Okay, you’d have to speak to a representative, but they are all unavailable at the moment.  Can I get your name and number and have someone call you back or would you rather call back in say about 30 mins?”

Them “Ummm.. so I can’t talk to anyone?”

Me “I’m sorry, but they aren’t available. I can have them call you back if I can get your name and number”

Them “Umm, can you tell me how much it costs?

Me “No, I’m sorry I’m not allowed to give any information, you must speak with a representative.  If I can get your name and number I promise I will have one of them call you back as soon as possible”

Them “Well, I umm… is there someone I can speak with?”

Me “AND AGAIN SIR/MA’AM, THEY ARE ALL UNAVAILABLE AT THIS MOMENT IN TIME.  I CAN EITHER GET YOUR NAME AND AND NUMBER AND HAVE THEM CALL YOU BACK OR YOU CAN TRY CALLING BACK AT A LATER TIME”

Them “Ok, have them call me back”

Me “Ok.. what is your name?”

Them.. they always give me a number for their name.. and they usually spit it out so fast I can’t get them all..

 

Now I know this is more of a listening problem and not a stupidity problem, but aren’t they both kinda the same thing?  I mean really.  Has the world evolved to the point that people do not believe they need to listen anymore?  Do we all think we know so much that anything told to us by anyone else is just dribble that will clutter up our minds if we actually listen?  I know this is how my teenager thinks, but I’m finding that grown ups think this way too.

As I stated earlier, I talk to people from all over the globe and to those who were born and raised right here in Va.  This problem affects everyone, from every race, gender, creed doesn’t matter.  Stupidity does not discriminate at all.  The only difference I can find is men tend to not listen because they already think they have figured it all out, women tend to not listen because they think they are boss and what they say is how it is suppose to be.  Now there are some exceptions to every rule.  I’m not saying 100% of people have this problem, but the majority seems to rule here.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Stupidity… a global epidemic

Leave a Reply

