Longing for yesterday..

Have you ever found yourself daydreaming of a time gone by? A loved one that has passed on?  A time when toys were the most important thing in our lives?  What makes it something that we long for so much?  Is it the time or person or thing itself, or is it the loss of time we miss so much.  The fact that we know our youth is gone and time is marching on. As Dolly Parton said in Steel Magnolias ‘Time keeps marching on, and usually right across your face”.  Don’t hold me to that exact quote, it’s been a minute since I’ve seen that movie. 

I’m curious because I was thinking this morning about my childhood and missing my mom of course, but more about things I use to love.  My baby dolls and barbies, my weeble wobbles.  A cereal called Wafflelos that I only got to eat once because it hyped me up so badly my mom threw the box away and never bought it for me again.  Is it those things that I miss, or is it the fact that I use to be young and those things brought me enjoyment.  I could play with those things again, I have a 9 yr old daughter, but they don’t excite me anymore.  So it must be just the passing of my youth that I’m mourning.

Image

I guess we should be thankful for having the opportunity to grow older, but that doesn’t mean we can’t mourn the passing of time.  Whats some of the things you miss most?

2 thoughts on “Longing for yesterday..

Leave a Reply

