Love love love Kenny Chesney

Growing up my mom listened to good old country music.  You remember, the “My wife left me, she took my heart my house my car and my dog” most depressing crap ever?  She loved artists such as “Patsy Cline, Alabama, George Straight, Dolly Parton, Kenny Rogers, Charlie Pride, Glen Campbell” just to name a few.  The first real concert I ever remember going too (not including the one’s at like the Strawberry Festival or the Corn Festival but a real in a stadium or civic center kind) was Alabama.  They were so unknown then that they couldn’t even fill up the Lakeland Civic Center.  If you don’t know this place let me tell you, it was small.  Like maybe holds only 5,000 people small.  This was way back before Orlando even had a civic center for the concerts that came to town.

Image

As soon as I was a pre-teen/early teenager I shifted to the hair bands.  Motley Crue was and still is my most favorite band of all time.  Their music just held me captive, not to mention the little itty-bitty crush I had/have on Vince Neil.  The bands that came out of the 80’s will forever hold a special place in my heart, in fact as I write this I am listening to the Metal Ballads that I ordered off TV, yes I did in fact order one of those Time Life music offers, don’t judge!

Image

I have such an ecliptic taste in music and style and well hell men, pretty much every part of me, so it’s nothing to hear Metallica playing in my radio one moment then Susan Boyle the next.  I will say I tend to gravitate towards country when I’m more depressed though, something about those lyrics talking exactly about what I am feeling at that moment!  I don’t know how they do it but they just know exactly what to say.  Except Taylor Swift, she’s just annoying and her catchy little tunes drive me bananas.

Image

There is one artist though that I find can do no wrong when it comes to his music, his concerts, his overall personality and that would be Kenny Chesney!  I love this man.  His music is so amazing and sincere, and he appears to be such a down to earth classy kind of guy.  He’s got his rebellious streak, he likes to have fun but he also seems like he is the type of guy who still calls his grandma and grandpa every week just to check in on them and still opens doors for women.  He’s one of those people who you’d like to have as a friend in your own personal circle of life.  I was fortunate enough to have won concert tickets to see him back in 07 during his Flip Flop tour and let me tell you it was an AMAZING show.  The atmosphere was just of pure excitement, and when he came on stage it turned electric!  He put on one hell of a show.  So when a few months later I won tickets to see him again in 08 you can imagine my super excitement!  Sadly however I had to sell the tickets as feeding my kids was more important then going to a concert.  I have not been able to make it back to see him live, and this year he is touring with Tim McGraw.  I would do just about anything to be in the audience at that show, but it’s not feasible again this year, story of my life.  Anyways, if you get the chance to see any concert this year, I would suggest this one.  Kenny goes out of his way to make sure that his show is just the best you’ve ever seen.  Between the lights, the large screens, the endless musicians and back up singers on stage, the pure electricity he himself brings and emits is nothing you’ve ever seen before.  I’ve been to so many concerts in my life, ranging from Alabama to Motley Crue, to the Monsters of Metal to Heart to Harry Conick Jr and I can tell you, other then Motley Crue (who will always be #1) Kenny is now my favorite artist, hands down.  I love his music, his shows, his voice everything.. and frankly he’s not that  hard to look at.. ESPECIALLY from the neck down!  HEY, DON’T JUDGE…

Image

8 thoughts on “Love love love Kenny Chesney

  1. Hi,
    I haven’t been to a concert in years, but I agree, I also don’t mind listening to Kenny Chesney. 🙂
    Love the photo you chose as well, especially the last one..

  2. I like your mom’s taste in music…and, apparently, yours. I’m sure you already saw my Kenny comment, LOL! I did see him in concert, though. 22 nd row seats. They were a birthday gift (a totally awesome one)! It was him, Gretchen Wilson, Carrie Underwood, Dierks Bentley, Big & Rich & Cowboy Troy…with Uncle Cracker stopping in to sing during the encore. 🙂

Leave a Reply

