My mom’s easy but tasty Beef Stroganoff

This was one of my all time favorite dinners that my mom would make growing up.  It’s her Beef Straganoff recipe, it’s easy and delish!  Nothing better the slurping up the egg noodles and sopping up the gravy with a piece of french bread.  Too bad I can’t eat it anymore, but you can.  I hope you like it as much as I did.

 

Grocery List

1) London Broil (now my mom used the L.B, I prefer Sirloin as it’s more tender)

2) Sour Cream

3) Onion

4) Garlic

5) Mushrooms (fresh are best but canned will work in a pinch)

6)Ketchup

7) 2 Reg size cans of beef broth

 

Crossgrain cut 1/4 inch streps and then cut again. Brown the meat in a little bit of oil, take out of the oil and add the onion and mushrooms (both chopped of course) to pan and sautee them til they are golden brown.  Add garlic (a couple of cloves chopped up or as much or little as your pallet likes).  Empty oil from the pan and put all back in.  Take the 2 cans of beef broth and save 1/4 cup to the side.. Add 1/3 cup ketchup to the pan and mix and simmer slowly.  In the 1/4 cup broth you’ve saved to the side add a little bit of flour to make it a little thick for the gravy.  Thick, not pasty.  Add to mixture in the pan and and simmer for an additional 10-15 minutes.  Just before serving add a huge dollop of sour cream to mixture and stir it in good.  Serve over noodle or rice, however I think the egg noodles are best!

 

Enjoy!

7 thoughts on “My mom’s easy but tasty Beef Stroganoff

Leave a Reply

