Dr Dr, give me the news..

Sorry I’ve been away for a few days but I haven’t been feeling all that well.  I’ve had several medical issue’s going on for a few months and they just got worse and worse until this past Thursday when the pain became to intense for me to just deal with.  So I told myself if I woke up Friday and was still in pain I would go to the er, after I went to work of course and took care of a few things first.

Last week I saw my surgeon for my follow up and he said if I continued to hurt and found no relieve and the pain got worse to come into HIS ER, so that’s what I did.  I called his office and let them know I was on my way to the ER and to please let Dr. Lin know.  Of course I found out later that his assistant Mr. Whitcher didn’t bother to let him know that I was coming, or that I couldn’t get my upper GI scheduled either, a**hole.

We make it to the ER around 11 Friday morning and it doesn’t take too long to get taken back to room and put in a gown.  The first of a gazillion doctor’s come in and ask me what is wrong.  You gotta love teaching hospitals, NOT!  So I explain the whole, this has been going on for awhile, getting progressively worse, my surgeon knows blah blah blah.  Of course I have to repeat this four thousand times before the day is over.  Then the fun really begins.  The tech that wants to take some blood and get my IV started comes in.  I tell her before she even starts that I am an extremely hard stick and to please use the smallest needle.  She says what I expected “I’ve been doing this for years honey, I’m sure I can do it”.. No one ever believes me when I tell them just how difficult my veins are.  So she takes the needle and pokes it in and starts pushing it around pulling it in and out trying her hardest to hit the vein.  She finally get it in, or so she thinks and tries to get blood out of it.  No blood.  She pushes some saline through and I tell her it hurts but she doesn’t listen to me.  So she leaves and comes back with the saline bag and hooks it up.  The minute it starts my arm is in severe pain, tears are welling up in my eyes and I’m feeling like my triceps muscle is tearing away from the bone.  Its worse then any cramp I’ve ever had.  I’m about ready to scream as she’s rushing to turn off the drip and take it out.  After she gets it out she goes and gets the nurse on duty who comes in and I’m still suffering from the pain the other lady caused and I’m telling her that I am a hard stick and to please use the smallest needle and don’t use me as a pin cushion.  So she looks over my arm and hand and puts the tourniquet thing on and starts slapping my hand, my wrist my arm anywhere to find a good vein.  She decides the thumb is the best place to stab me and proceeds to push a 22 needle into my hand.  OH MY DEAR GOD IN HEAVEN ABOVE AND SATAN HIMSELF IN THE HELLS BELOW!!!  Now I would say that I’ve never felt pain like this before but sadly I have.  Back in 2002 when I went to have my c-section to have my baby girl they had the same problems trying to find a vein and that dim wit stabbed my hand/thumb area 3x trying to find the vein but instead finding my bone!  You don’t know pain until you’ve had a needle hit your bone.  By now my body is coming up off the bed, the tears are falling, my foot is kicking the bed and the screams are trying to escape out of my mouth but I’m refusing to just outright scream because I don’t want to look like a big baby but my god the pain is intense.   She realizes this in not going to work, it only took the other dimwit to hold my hand and try to relax me and my husband coming over and rubbing my head and holding my head before she realized just how much pain she had me in.  So she takes it out and I take a couple of deep breaths and she’s stabbing me again, only this time between my pointer finger and middle finger on top of the hand.   I do believe this bitch is sadistic and enjoys the pain she causes people.  She probably goes home to her shrines and does some ritualistic dance ceremony while chanting and recalling the pain she cause that day.  In fact, she probably used my blood as she got it all over her pants and my bed!  Okay, if anything weird and bad starts happening to me (worse then normal) you all know who to tell the police  who caused it all.  The blonde witch that works at “The New Walter Reed Medical Center” in Bethesda MD, look up the records, she was working in the afternoon of Friday August 17, 2012!

After they get that IV in they realize that it will not give blood but does let saline through it, although that still hurt a lil too.  They’ve decided to just take blood the other way, manually by needle in another spot instead of through the port in the IV.  So after they get it finished and taped off they quickly give me a shot of pain meds which instantly give me a headache but does make me feel a little bit better, it kinda helped the arm pain go away from the earlier try.  Of course now I’ve got to explain a hundred more times to the Gastrointestinal doctors what is going on, the residents, the resident surgeon sent over from my surgeon, and then finally my surgeon comes over with his team and I get to tell him and them what’s going on.  He’s looking at all my blood work and telling me it’s all in the normal range but wants me to have a cat scan and the upper gi while I’m there.  I explain to him that the GI team was already in there and has said the earliest they could do it would be Monday morning and that’s only if I’ve been admitted.  “Your already admitted” he says as he walks out the door.  Well, alrighty then.  A couple of hours later I’m on my way up to the 5th floor.  I get there in time to meet my nurse who is just a chatty Kathy.  She’s so cute and truly positive and uplifting, however she is a talker!!  LOL.. I didn’t think it was possible to find someone who could outtalk me, but I did!

The rest is to be continued… J

7 thoughts on “Dr Dr, give me the news..

  1. Ahh man that’s like watching a TV show and it’s a 2 parter and you have to wait till next week to see the rest of what happened. Lucky for me I was there so I know already…

  2. I am constanly wish that we had a different button other than LIKE because I don’t LIKE the way you were treated and in pain but I do love the way you write! Hope you are feeling better soon! I get leg cramps and I can’t imagine pain worse than that! And I have had two babies and two miscarriages so belive me, my heart goes out to ya!

  3. Thanks… I’m still dealing with issue’s.. but it’s been almost a year since I’ve had any kind of surgery.. so that’s good.. My heart feels for you on the miscarriages.. I’ve had 4 myself.. it’s a pain you never heal from..

Leave a Reply

