It’s almost Autumn.. time for PUMPKIN

Even though I now hate the cold simply because I can’t warm up once I get cold, I still adore the fall season and it’s fastly approaching us.  I’ve noticed the mornings are getting colder, the tree’s are starting to change colors and the deer are coming out more and more.  Whats the first thing I think of when I think of Autumn, other then the great colors and boots?  The smells.  One in particular is one that brings me nothing but happiness, and that would be PUMPKIN!I love the smell of it baking, filling the house with a feeling of warmth and love.  I came across this recipe for pumpkin soup last year and loved it.  It was the first time I ever tried it and I’m completely addicted to it.  I can’t wait to make it again.  I know I could make it anytime I wanted but I choose to wait til it’s cold outside.  It’s my special treat for those days i’m cold to the bone.

 

 

Ingredients

 

2 or 3 Tbsp of butter

2 cups fresh pumpkin (or a can of pumpkin puree)

2 carrots – cleaned and shredded or chopped

2 small apples – peeled and diced

1 small onion – diced

2 cloves of garlic- diced

3 cups chicken stock

dash of parsley and thyme

1 cup cream

Salt and pepper

In a large saucepan or stockpot, melt the butter over medium-high heat.  Add the carrot, apple, onion and garlic.  Saute until the vegetables are soft, about 8 to 10 minutes.  Remove mixture from heat and puree in the food processor.  Return your pureed mixture to your pan.  Add the pumpkin puree, chicken stock, parsley and thyme.  Stir all the ingredients well over medium-high heat and bring to boil.  Reduce heat to low and simmer for 10 – 15 minutes.  Stir in cream and salt and pepper to taste.  Heat and stir for 5 minutes, do not let soup boil.  Pour into individual bowls and garmish with fresh ground pepper.

Toppings

Use fresh or dried herbs such as basil, oregano, parsley, sage or thyme.  Or try spices such as cayenne pepper, chili pepper, cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice, coriander, cumin, curry or ginger.  Sprinkle on pumpkin seeds, pomegranate seeds, or dried fruits such as cranberries, apricots, apples or figs.  Top your soup with a favorite dairy item, such as creme fraiche, sour cream, yogurt, cheddar or parmesan cheese.

 

2 thoughts on “It’s almost Autumn.. time for PUMPKIN

  1. Pingback: The Swifts Have Flown « The Great Dorset Vegetable Experiment

  2. Pingback: A’s simple Autumnal Pumpkin soup | Sharon's food and diet blog

Leave a Reply

