Help me… I’ve fallen victim to Reality TV

Ever since reality TV started I’ve managed to avoid being sucked into watching any of it.  I watched the first episode of Survivor and decided that really wasn’t for me, at all.  I did get into American Idol for the first few seasons, but now I’m lucky to watch the auditions.  I’ve laughed at the people who watch them religiously, thought how gullible are they?  Don’t they realize how staged these shows are?  How can anyone with half a brain literally find themselves not only watching them but into it so much they really care about what happens to the people on the show?    I will admit I’ve watched a few episodes of “Deadliest Catch” and thought they were crazy because it’s just too freaking cold on those ships.  I managed to catch a few more of “Dirty Jobs” because hell Mike Rowe is freaking hot as hell, and I love his voice.  But here recently I’ve figured out that I am completely and totally addicted to several reality show’s, (most being on the Food Network) and it kinda disturbs me.  I’ve been hoping for years that the trend for these show’s would die off and we could get back to real TV with plots and story lines and real actors, now I’m hoping my show’s don’t get canceled.

 

So here is my list of 10 Reality Show’s that I enjoy…… yeah, I’m admitting it, I watch these religiously and care about what happens..

 

1) Cupcake Wars.  OMGoshI love this show.  It first aired in 2010 and quickly became one of Food Networks top rated shows.  Every single time this show is on I have such and urge to run into the kitchen and bake tasty cupcake creations with 4 or 5 ingredients topped with butter cream icing and a fondant decoration on top.

 

2)  Chopped.  Originally aired in 2009.  This show leaves me scratching my head sometimes when they open the basket and there is some ingredient I’ve never even heard of and these people know exactly what it is and where it came from and how to cook it.  I can’t imagine the pressure trying to cook a whole freaking pig in 30 minutes and make sure it’s cooked completely and looks pretty.  LOL.. they’d get sandwiches from me in that amount of time!

3) Man Vs Food.  This show aired in 2008 and is now Man Vs Food Nation on the Travel Channel.  In the original show Adam would go around to different places and take on the challenges of eating something outrageous in a short amount of time.  Like it’s perfectly normal or okay to eat 10 pounds of beef on a bun in 25 minutes, or wings so hot that the guy who makes them has to wear gloves and goggles to protect his eye’s and hands.  I always said he was going to kill himself at a young age eating all of that and he must have figured it out as now he has help eating the foods in the challenges.

4) Diners, Drive Ins and Dives.  First aired in 2006.  Honestly I only watch this show for Guy.  I have a crush okay, get over it.  He’s blonde, he’s rich, he’s funny, he’s good looking and he can cook.. What’s not to like?

5) Teen Mom/ 16 and Pregnant –  This train wreck started in 2009 and has been my guilty pleasure since it started!  I love to yell at the TV at these idiot girls who think the guy’s are going to drop everything and be there for them 100% of the way at 16 years old and their lives are going to be so great and easy!!!  I got emotionally attached to the first set of girls and rooted for them, well some of them, Amber just needs to go away and never come back.  I’ve had my daughter watching these with me in the hopes that when she is 16 and faced with the possibility of some boy promising her the world to get into her pants (yeah yeah I know it starts younger then 16) she’ll remember seeing those poor girls that got stuck with a baby and no help and a life that was so much harder then it needed to be.

6)  Storage Wars.  This one aired in 2010 on A&E.  The kids and I came across this one on accident one night and have been hooked ever since.  We love Barry and Jarrod and Brandi.. can’t stand Dave YYUUUUPPPP Hester and Darrell.. but hey, it wouldn’t be the same without these two idiots.

7) Dirty Jobs.  This one aired in 2005 and made Mike Rowe a star, well at least his voice!

In addition to hosting programs, Rowe has an extensive background as a narrator. His work with Discovery Channel includes narrating American ChopperAmerican Hot RodDeadliest Catch,Wild Pacific, and Ghost Lab, as well as other Discovery specials and series such as How the Universe Works, and Syfy‘s Ghost Hunters. Rowe has hosted the Discovery Channel’s annual “Shark Week” in 2006 and 2008, along with hosting the special You Spoof Discovery, an amateur parody video special which poked fun at some of the popular series on the Discovery Channel’s lineup.[14] Rowe is currently the narrator for National Geographic Channel‘s series Wicked Tuna.

On Dirty Jobs, Rowe frequently mocks his seeming omnipresence on Discovery Channel; when a segment on firefighting and salvage was unable to be completed in a single day, he assured his firefighter host that he would “send over the MythBusters … maybe the American Chopper boys … [to finish the job]”.

Mike Rowe poses for a photo during filming at Skulls Unlimited International.

Rowe was originally tapped to be the on-screen host of the Discovery Channel‘s Deadliest Catch, a show about crab fishing in the Bering Sea, and shot footage aboard several crab boats in addition to narrating the series. When Dirty Jobs was picked up by Discovery, he was told to choose which show he wanted to appear in on-screen. Rowe claims he was told by Discovery that the shows would air back-to-back on the same night: “We can’t have you telling us stories about six dead fishermen on camera and making a fart joke with your arm in a cow’s ass”.[15] Rowe chose to host Dirty Jobs and narrate Deadliest Catch; the footage of him on the boats was not used in the series, although he did appear in a season finale of Deadliest Catch, interviewing the boat captains. Rowe hosted a related show about life on the Bering Sea, a 2007 miniseries, After the Catch.

Other narration work by Rowe includes Mystery DiagnosisDrydock: A Cruise Ship RebornSouthern SteelPowertool Drag RacingScavengers Rock (Animal Planet), and the opening of Ghost Hunters, a Syfy series from the producers of American Chopper. Additionally, Rowe has done voiceover work for the reality television show The Ultimate Fighter and the NASCAR pre-race show for The 2009 Chase on ESPN.[16]

On December 21, 2009, Rowe became the announcer on ABC World News with Diane Sawyer.[17]

(Wikipedia)

This man is sexy, in shape and has a sexy voice.. he’s the complete package.

8)  Miami Ink.  This one started in 2005.  Ami is freaking amazing, and its where Kat Von D was discovered.  I had the pleasure of meeting Yoji in Houston and even got my picture taken with him and a signed photo of him.  I’d love to get some ink done by Ami but lets face it, I’m not rich enough, famous enough, or hot enough for him to work on me.

 

9)  The Osbourne’s.  MTV aired this in 2002, yes it’s been a decade since we had a first look into the life styles of this crazy drug addicted family.  I found myself laughing hysterically at every episode at the same time feeling completely sorry for the kids in that house.  It’s nice to see they both Jack and Kelly have really straightened themselves out and seem to be doing well.

 

10) Hard Core Pawn.  Aired in 2009 I recently discovered this show while in the hospital.  There was absolutely nothing on TV and I got stuck watching this.  I laughed so hard at the guy screaming and wrapping himself up in a rug as he rolled across the floor I had tears in my eyes.  Plus my laughing annoyed my room mate from hell so BONUS.

 

And for an honorable mention I have to add “Lizard Lick Towing”.  OH MY GOD.. this is the worst acted most staged show on TV but you can’t help but laugh at the horrible acting.  It’s a great time waster if there’s nothing else on.  Tru TV seems to have some of the worst yet funniest show’s on.

 

6 thoughts on “Help me… I’ve fallen victim to Reality TV

  1. I do enjoy Diners, Drive Ins, and Dives. It gives me ideas of things to cook. And the Osbournes are funny but the rest I can do without.

  2. We have some of the same Favs… But Man Vs Food makes me feel like vomiting every time I watch it :)) And I wish the Dirty Jobs guy could do MY job… it would be the last one he ever did :))

  3. Hubby watches the first 4. I like Chopped & Diners, Drive Ins and Dives. When we were in Dallas back in October we tried a place he featured. It was ah-mazing. If I’m going reality, I’m more HGTV…The Outdoor Room (Jamie Durie & his Aussie accent are incredibly edible)….or Property Brothers or Love It Or List It or Income Properties…and some of the others. I’m also a die hard The Voice fan.

    As for those follow you around reality dramas…no thanks. 🙂

Leave a Reply

