My first Christmas Memory

I must have been 4 or 5, I’m not sure I just know it was when my dad was still alive.  I don’t remember who woke up first, who the instigator was (probably me..lol) but us four kids crept quietly down the hall to the living room where the big fat Pine tree was glowing with the multi colored lights and tinsel that was hung carefully (because my mom insisted it was on evenly, not just thrown on).

English: A Christmas Tree at Home

English: A Christmas Tree at Home (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

We started opening up gifts, I thought quietly but apparently not..The first thing I opened was a pair of saddle shoe’s.  If you were born way back when you’ll remember them..

shoes

Oh how I loved those shoe’s.  I’m pretty sure this is where my shoe fetish started.  By time I got them out of the box and on my feet I heard my mom and dad yelling at us kids to get back to bed.  It was only 4 am.  So the 4 of us ran back to bed, me with my shoe’s still on my little feet to pretend like we were back asleep until they woke up and got us up.

kids

 

Now I’m not sure if it was the same Christmas or not..but I remember having 2 gigantic boxes under the tree with my name on them.  I was so excited.. The boxes were bigger then I was and heavy!!!!  I opened the first one and what did I find inside????  A stuffed Kung Fu Monkey (which I still have) with rocks on the bottom to weight it down… The second box..  yup.. the same.. except this one had a big stuffed mouse (which I no longer have).  My dad did that.. now you know where I get my sense of humor from.

 

I hope that today you have made memories that will last your lifetime.  Have a very Merry Christmas.  Hug your parents if your lucky enough to still have them in your life.  Hug your kids and let them know how much you love and cherish them.  Hug your spouse and let them know Christmas is complete because of them.

6 thoughts on “My first Christmas Memory

Leave a Reply

