“I’m 83 and Tired”

Revision:  I originally posted that Bill Cosby was the author of this story, it has since been pointed out several times that he did not.  I do apologize that I did not research it better before I posted it.  I have been told that a Robert Hall said it in 2009.  I have opted to not delete this post simply because I agree with the message.

 

 

I’m 83. Except for brief period in the 50’s when I was doing my National
Service, I’ve worked hard since I was 17. Except for some some serious
health challenges, I put in 50-hour weeks, and didn’t call in sick in nearly
40 years. I made a reasonable salary, but I didn’t inherit my job or my
income, and I worked to get where I am. Given the economy, it looks as
though retirement was a bad idea, and I’m tired. Very tired.

I’m tired of being told that I have to “spread the wealth” to people who
don’t have my work ethic. I’m tired of being told the government will take
the money I earned, by force if necessary, and give it to people too lazy
to earn it.

I’m tired of being told that Islam is a “Religion of Peace,” when every day I
can read dozens of stories of Muslim men killing their sisters, wives and
daughters for their family “honor”; of Muslims rioting over some slight
offense; of Muslims murdering Christian and Jews because they aren’t
“believers”; of Muslims burning schools for girls; of Muslims stoning
teenage rape victims to death for “adultery”; of Muslims mutilating the
genitals of little girls; all in the name of Allah, because the Qur’an and
Shari’a law tells them to.

I’m tired of being told that out of “tolerance for other cultures” we must let
Saudi Arabia and other Arab countries use our oil money to fund mosques
and Madrasa Islamic schools to preach hate in Australia , New Zealand ,
UK, America and Canada , while no one from these countries are allowed to
fund a church, synagogue or religious school in Saudi Arabia or any other
Arab country to teach love and tolerance..

I’m tired of being told I must lower my living standard to fight global
warming, which no one is allowed to debate.

I’m tired of being told that drug addicts have a disease, and I must help
support and treat them, and pay for the damage they do. Did a giant germ
rush out of a dark alley, grab them, and stuff white powder up their noses
or stick a needle in their arm while they tried to fight it off?

I’m tired of hearing wealthy athletes, entertainers and politicians of all
parties talking about innocent mistakes, stupid mistakes or youthful
mistakes, when we all know they think their only mistake was getting
caught. I’m tired of people with a sense of entitlement, rich or poor.

I’m really tired of people who don’t take responsibility for their lives and
actions. I’m tired of hearing them blame the government, or discrimination
or big-whatever for their problems.

I’m also tired and fed up with seeing young men and women in their teens and
early 20’s be-deck them selves in tattoos and face studs, thereby making
themselves unemployable and claiming money from the Government.

Yes, I’m damn tired. But I’m also glad to be 83.. Because, mostly, I’m not
going to have to see the world these people are making. I’m just sorry for
my granddaughter and their children. Thank God I’m on the way out and not
on the way in.

I think Bill said it all!

15 thoughts on ““I’m 83 and Tired”

    • yeah.. I’ve been told it wasn’t him. 😦 which is sad because it would have been awesome had he said it! But anyways.. I completely agree with the message so I left it up.. thanks for reading it though.. 🙂

  1. This is a hoax. Do as Cosby suggests: hit DELETE.

    Seriously, I cannot believe that the author would not google this to check out the validity before blindly doing a “copy/paste”. You only need to see things like “50 hour work week” (Bill did not have a fixed work week), “reasonable salary” (as we all know, Bill has made a lot of money – except for the sitcoms, however, he never earned a “salary”).

    Anyway, the true author was Robert Hall, and this “story” has morphed along the way as posters add their own vitriol into this piece.

    • Not everyone blindly copies and pastes articles. Usually I am very good about checking out stories and sources however on this particular one I did not. For that and that alone I will apologize. The only reason I posted it was because I agreed 100% with the message. I don’t care if Bill Cosby said or Robert Hall or anyone else for that matter.

  2. So Shannygirl, I just read your reply to the other poster who pointed out that this is a fraud. You said that you were already told that Cosby did not say this but you left it up because you “completely agree with the message”???!

    What “message” would that be? Is it the message that you like to perpetrate fraud?

    You can amend the blog to correctly attribute this quote to Robert Hall. He was a respected person in his own right and you can attribute the quote to him. You would also have to find his orginal blog that was posted in 2009 and post that instead. His orginal quote has been polluted by others who have changed things.

    For the record, Cosby finds these views repugnant and he has spoken out against this post that has become viral.

    • It is not my wish to offend anyone which is why I diligently try to avoid speaking of things like Politics or Religion. I do not perpetrate fraud, I stated that I recognized Bill Cosby did not say it, I even responded to your last comment that I left it up because I agree with the message. I am tired of having to work as hard as I do to support people who are perfectly capable of working but chose to take Government handouts. I am not in any way mocking those who truly need it as there have been times in my life when I needed some help to make ends meet. Like when I left and abusive husband and worked 4 jobs trying to support myself and my children, one of which is special needs and his medications alone cost $400 a month. So yes, I needed help feeding them and received food stamps and had them enrolled in the state funded insurance. I am tired of American’s having to accept other peoples religions and fund their beliefs but are condemned for our own believes. I am tired of professionals athletes/politicians/actors ect coming out and saying.. “Oh I am so sorry that I did whatever” but knowing full well they are not, I am tired of rarely hearing about those professionals who are upstanding and do the right thing. They are made to be bad role models, and it makes no sense to me. I do not understand why people idolize the sinners and condemn the saints.
      If you do not agree with what I believe in, that’s great. I acknowledge that you and everyone else has the right to believe in whatever they wish and I do not condemn you for it. I will not call you names because you believe differently then me. So to that I will say, thank you for stopping by my blog, taking the time to read and respond and have a great day.

    • She is not perpetrating fraud. She posted already that it was a mistake and who the real person was more than once. The “message” as most people understand the meaning, is the post itself and what has been read. I don’t care who said it, if it has been changed by 150 people from it’s original context to say what it says now or if this is the original context. What I have read in this post and what she typed in this post is what I agree with and what she agrees with.

      For the record, I don’t care what Cosby or any celebrities views are, I don’t base my opinions and views on what a celebrity thinks, I base them on my own morals and values. If Cosby disagrees with what has been written that is his right. By your reaction I would say you disagree as well and that is your right too but you don’t have the right to put someone down because they do agree with what is written or just disagree with you in general.

  3. Bill Cosby did not rape all these lying white women, they have gotten together and just want money!! Any body should be able to see that this is just white women tying to get money!! WHY DON’T YOU JUST STOP YOUR LIES!!!!! WHITE WOMEN!!!!

  4. MSN, stop supporting the lying white women!! Take Bill Cosby off !! The man is innocent! its another way to try and hold a black man back!! and you know it !

Leave a Reply

