Lonely Leaf

Lonely yellow leaf on the autumn tree

 

 

Lonely little leaf, I watched you today spinning around.  You reminded me of a girl I used to know.  Falling from the family branches, spiraling out of control on the inside but giving the appearance of gracefully falling, floating on the breeze.  You, so beautiful and colorful had no idea that you were falling to your demise.  To be so blind and ignorant to your own mortality, how I envy that.  For you see little leaf… when I fell from my families branches, I spiraled out of control.. and every day I’m reminded of my mortality.  With each new ache or pain I know that I am ever closer to the ground in which I will return from the earth from which I came.

Leave a Reply

