Smoothie Central

So I’m trying to get healthier this year, I have no choice.  I lost a lot of weight over the last couple of years and now suddenly I’ve started putting weight back on and I have no clue why.  I track my calorie/protein/fat intake every day and I’m always 500 or more calories under for the day so I was thinking this may be why.  So I’ve started adding homemade smoothies to my diet to get in some more protein and calories.  Surprisingly they are pretty good!  For Breakfast I’ve been making Banana/Oatmeal/Walnut smoothies.

My recipe isn’t one that is measured completely so follow along as best you can.. I use my Ninja to blend all of these, if you use nuts, always grind them up first.

I add

1 small banana

I make quick oats, the 1 serving.  It’s 1 cup water to 1/2 cups oats I do believe, read  your label.  Let them cool some

1 handful walnuts or almonds (grind these up first)

1 Tbsp Agave Sweetener

1 scoop Protein Powder (Vanilla flavored)

and I pour in maybe a cup of Vanilla Almond Milk

1  Big spoon full of Vanilla Greek Yogurt

 

Tonight I made my first ever Green Smoothie… I added

1 handful Kale

1 handful Spinach

a few baby carrots (maybe 4)

2 celery stalks

a big chunk of Ice Berg Lettuce

Vanilla Almond Milk (to your desired consistency)

1 scoop Vanilla Protein Powder

2 Tbsp Agave

2 Big Tablespoons of the Vanilla Greek Yogurt.

 

smoothie

 

 

My best friend adds a small apple to her Green smoothie for added natural sweetener.   You can play with your smoothies any way you’d like.  Add some peanut butter to your breakfast one (go easy on it though.. lots of calories).  Maybe a little unsweetened cocoa powder for chocolate flavored.  Try berries in it.  Play with it until you find what you like best and go be healthy!

Leave a Reply

