My Wings

Born into the light

my wings carried me through

trusting and strong

full of life anew

growing more able by day

soaring higher each year

I loved my wings

for they kept me from fear

as quick as they were

they were gone just as fast

left stranded on Earth

I knew they wouldn’t last

For even Angels have fallen

from the Heavens above

as God turned his face

and denied them his love

the scars are still there

from where my wings were draped

my halo is broken and bent

all emotions inside raped…

My wings, how I miss them

the warmth wrapped around my soul

feelings of security never to return

left always feeling less then whole.

2 thoughts on “My Wings

Leave a Reply

