Movie Review Hansel & Gretel Witch Hunters

 

Hansel and Gretel: Witch Hunters - Poster: Gemma Arterton and Jeremy Renner

 

Yesterday Rob and I went to see the new movie Hansel & Gretel Witch Hunters.  I will start off by saying I pegged this movie from the start.  I had the entire story line figured out within 10 minutes of it starting, but saying that I still enjoyed seeing it.  Gemma Arterton is beautiful and unlike Kristen Stewart she has a true range of emotions you can see on her face.  She plays the part of this fairy tale character perfectly.  Jeremy Renner is just as cute as ever playing the part of Hansel.  These two had on screen chemistry and played it perfectly.  I will say however Famke Janssen stole the show!  Now, ya’ll know me and you know that I have a thing for blondes but this is one brunette who can really turn my head!  She is stunningly beautiful and really is a great actress.  I’ve liked her in everything she’s done (that I’ve seen of course).  I should hate her simply because she is 7 yrs older then I am and looks 7 years younger then me!  But, hey she’s got the money to get the touch ups and the great skin care products, I don’t.  Anyways, got off track there!  Sorry, that happens with bi-polar people who also have ADD.  Get over it cause it won’t be the only time it happens.

The story starts with the woodsman taking his kids to the forest and leaving them but you can already tell it’s not simply because they can’t afford to feed them, there is something else in the making.   The kids wonder into a house made of candy and yup, there’s a witch there.  They end up killing her and are hailed by the townsfolk and become full blown witch hunters.  They spend their lives finding and killing dark witches.  Then, many years later they are hired by a Mayor of a town to come find the witch(es) that are abducting kids from all around.  It’s then you find out that there is a blood moon coming and the dark witches are preparing for it.  Famke is the Grand Dark Witch and plays an excellent part.  She battles Hansel and Gretel kicking their asses several times.

Hansel-Gretel-Witch-Hunters-4

Now I can’t tell you what happens after simply because I’ll be giving away the ending and I don’t want to do that.  You just find out that there are a few surprises (which of course I had figured out and even told Rob what was going to happen).  You pretty much know when Edward the Troll helps Gretel out.

The costumes were awesome and the make up artist were on the spot with the witches!  It was awesome seeing some of the cool witch costumes they imagined up!

In the end good prevails, like always.  Is it just me or sometimes would you really like it if evil just kicked goods ass and ruled the world?  Oh, must just be me.. I’m in a mood today.

 

 

6 thoughts on “Movie Review Hansel & Gretel Witch Hunters

Leave a comment